About Us

Mission: The Sons of the American Revolution is the leading male lineage society that perpetuates the ideals of the war for independence.  As a historical, educational, and patriotic, non-profit corporation, we seek to maintain and expand the meaning of patriotism, respect for our national symbols, the value of American citizenship, and the unifying force of “e pluribus unum” that was created from the people of many nations — one nation and one people.  Go to http://www.sar.org/ for more information.
The SAR is a historical, educational, and patriotic non-profit, United States 501(c)3, corporation that seeks to maintain and extend:
  • the institutions of American freedom
  • an appreciation for true patriotism
  • a respect for our national symbols …
  • the value of American citizenship
  • the unifying force of e pluribus unum that has created, from the people of many nations, one nation and one people.

We do this by perpetuating the stories of patriotism, courage, sacrifice, tragedy, and triumph of the men who achieved the independence of the American people in the belief that these stories are universal ones of man’s eternal struggle against tyranny, relevant to all time, and will inspire and strengthen each succeeding generation as it too is called upon to defend our freedoms on the battlefield and in our public institutions.

National Society Sons of the American Revolution Headquarter – 1000 South Fourth Street | Louisville, Kentucky 40203-3208 Genealogical Research Library – 809 West Main Street | Louisville, Kentucky 40202

2019-2021 South Jersey Chapter SAR Officers

President Richard Serfass
1st Vice President Lawrence Nelson
2nd Vice President Timothy Ogline
Secretary Erick Ford
Treasurer James Requa
Captain of Color Guard Jack Yerkes
Registrar / Genealogist Harry Schaeffer
Chancellor John Convery
Historian James Howard
Chaplain Eric Yerkes
Trustees Harry Schaeffer, Richard Burr, and Harry Engleman

South Jersey SAR Past Presidents

Richard W. Serfass (Current) 2017-2021
Harry Schaeffer 2015-2017
Harry E. Engelman, Jr. 2013-2015
Martin A Shipe Jr. 2012-2013
Jon Mastin 2010-2011
Farra (Jerry) Read 2008-2009
Robert Locke 2006-2007
Paul Eldridge 2004-2005
John (Jack) Gebhart 2002-2003
Kenneth Spaar 2001
Dr. Louis G McAfoos 1999-2000
Herbert E. Harle II 1996
Harry Folger 1993-1994
Victor Anderson 1992
Robert Alkire 1989-1991
Richard Burr 1984-1989
Richard (Dick) Scudder 1983-1984
James Snodgrass 1982
Charles Crabbe Thomas 1973-1976
William E. Moody 1971-1972
William John Kearns 1970-1971
Carlton Rowand 1964-1969
R. Cooper Brown 1961-1964
John E. Dugan 1957—1960
Townsend Boyer Terms
Lawrence Stratton Unknown
Winfield S. Price 1939-1941
? ? 1936,37,38
Edwin S. Glenn 1935-1936
William Ashley Leavitt   Jr 1933-1934
Churchill Hungerford 1931-1932
Charles J. Maxwell 1929-1930
Edward C. Geehr 1927-1928
Rear Admiral Reynold Thomas Hall, USN 1922-1927
The South Jersey Chapter, No. 13, of the New Jersey Society of the Sons of the American Revolution chartered. 13 April 1923

sjc-2013--3-admHall sjc-2013--2-charter